top of page


Rotary's Zone Structure

At its January 2017 meeting, the Rotary International Board of Directors adopted a new zone structure for Rotary clubs.

Rotary bylaws require the Board to complete a comprehensive review of the 34 Rotary zones no less often than every eight years to ensure that each zone has an approximately equal number of Rotarians. The Board’s previous review of the zones occurred in 2008.

The Board earlier approved the creation of three regional workgroups to develop rezoning proposals for Asia, Europe/Africa, and the Americas. These workgroups comprised one representative (either a current director, incoming director, or immediate past director) from each zone in the region. The regional workgroups submitted their proposals to the Zones Review Committee, chaired by past Rotary Vice President Michael K. McGovern, which consolidated them into a single, worldwide plan for the Board’s consideration.

“I think the regional workgroups did a great job,” said Rotary President John F. Germ. “Rezoning is always an emotional subject for some Rotarians, but the workgroups and Board acted courageously in an effort to be fair to all concerned.”

Current Rotary International Zone Structure:

ZONE 1: Section A: Japan (northern) Section B: Bangladesh, Indonesia, Pakistan ZONE 2: Guam, Japan (central), Micronesia, Northern Marianas, Palau ZONE 3: Japan (southern) ZONE 4: India (western and northern) ZONE 5: India (southern), Maldives, Sri Lanka ZONE 6: Bhutan, India (eastern), Nepal ZONE 7: India (central and southern) ZONE 8: Australia, New Zealand and Pacific Islands ZONE 9: China, Hong Kong, Macau, Mongolia, Taiwan: ZONE 10: Section A: Philippines Section B: Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand, Vietnam 3330, 3340, 3350, 3360 Section C: Brunei, Malaysia, Singapore 3300, 3310 ZONE 11: South Korea (northern) ZONE 12: South Korea (southern) ZONE 13: Section A: Andorra, France, Monaco Section B: Belgium, Luxembourg ZONE 14: Italy, Malta, San Marino ZONE 15: Germany (northern and central) ZONE 16: Section A: Germany (southern), Israel Section B: Switzerland, Liechtenstein ZONE 17: Section A: Latvia, Sweden (northern) Section B: Aland Islands, Estonia, Finland, Russia (western) ZONE 18: Denmark, Faroe Islands, Greenland, Iceland, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Sweden (southern) ZONE 19: England (northern), Ireland, Isle of Man, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales ZONE 20: Section A: England (southern), Channel Islands, Gibraltar Section B: The Netherlands: Section C: Portugal, Azores Islands, Madeira Islands, Spain ZONE 21: Section A: Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Slovakia, Ukraine Section B: Afghanistan, Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bulgaria, Cyprus, FYROM, Georgia Greece, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Montenegro, Palestine, Serbia, Slovenia, Sudan, Tajikistan, Turkey, UAE ZONE 22: Africa ZONE 23: Section A: Brazil (southern) Section B: Antarctica, Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay ZONE 24: Section A: Brazil (central) Section B: Brazil (northern) ZONE 25: Section A: Belize, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Venezuela Section B: USA (TX) ZONE 26: USA (AZ, CA, CO, HI, NM, NV, TX) ZONE 27: USA (CA, CO, ID, MT, NE, NV, OR, UT, WA, WY), Canada ZONE 28: Canada, Russia (eastern), St. Pierre & Miquelon, USA (AK, ME, MI, NY, WA) ZONE 29: USA (IA, IL, KS, MI, MN, ND, NE, OK, SD, WI), Canada ZONE 30: USA (AL, IN, KY, OH, TN) ZONE 31: USA (AR, IL, KS, LA, MO, MS, OK, TN, TX) ZONE 32: Bermuda, Canada, USA (CT, MA, ME, NH, NJ, NY, PA, RI, VT) ZONE 33: USA (D.C., DE, MD, NC, PA, SC, TN, VA, WV) ZONE 34: The Caribbean (except Dominican Republic), Bahamas, French Guiana, Guyana, Suriname, Turks and Caicos Islands, USA (FL, GA)

Some Upcoming Rotary Zone Institute Meetings

Rotary Zone Institutes are a great way to travel the World, make new friends and get inspired by learning what fellow Rotarians are doing. All Zone Institutes offer side-trips and special outings. Plus, the Zone Institutes are always in very nice hotels at special rates. Nancy and I have enjoyed several Zone Institutes and are looking forward to going to Yogyakarta later this year. Zone 6B, 7A and 10B: Yogyakarta, Indonesia, November 30-December 1, 2018 Zone 8: Hobart, Tasmania, September 14-16, 2018 Zones 15 and 16: Vilnius, Lithuania, September 12-13, 2018 Zone 20a: Lagos, Nigeria, September 13-15, 2018 Zones 21b and 27: Boise, ID USA, September 2018 Zones 24 and 32: Montreal, Canada, September 20-22, 2018 Zones 25 and 26: Reno, NV USA, November 15-17, 2018 Zones 30 and 31: Montgomery, Al USA, October 11-14, 2018 Zone 33 and 34: Norfolk, VA USA, November 15-18, 2018


bottom of page